Partnership in development of composite pipes for subsea oil and gas strengthened

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Victrex and Magma Global are continuing to build their strategic partnership targeted at the oil and gas industry.

Following the joint development of Magma carbon composite m-pipe utilising Victrex Peek, Victrex recently invested in a minority interest in Magma to further facilitate the adoption of its m-pipe for subsea applications. The investment is in line with Victrex´s strategy to create future value through innovation and further differentiation into selected semi-finished and finished products, in addition to supplying the core high performance polymer.

The m-pipe technology is expected to reduce exploration and production costs and risks for demanding subsea applications – and is also the subject of a free webinar covering engineering, performance and commercial benefits.

Increasingly stringent demands for operations at greater depths, with sour service demands, and under higher pressures and temperatures, have made a metal replacement for subsea piping an urgent priority for the oil and gas industry. "Our strategic relationship with Magma Global will help to further facilitate the industry´s move into a new era of enhanced capabilities, coupled with reduced costs, in extreme subsea operations," commented James Simmonite, energy director at Victrex.

“The oil and gas market remains challenging, but the application of m-pipe in areas where it can deliver cost savings for operators, through simpler design, easier deployment and in whole life costs, means it should be the technology of choice for demanding subsea applications," said Martin Jones, CEO at Magma.

Webinar Information:

Title: “The Durability of PEEK Polymers in Thermoplastic Composite Pipes for Subsea Oil & Gas Environments”

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

10:00am EST/9:00am CST/8:00am MST/7:00am PST

Duration: 45 minutes, followed by a 15-minute Q&A session

Discussion topics:


  • The specific and unique demands of oil & gas transportation systems on polymers and composites, and how VICTREX PEEK polymer meets these challenges

  • The qualification process for the VICTREX PEEK-based m-pipe

  • The engineering, performance, risk and cost reduction opportunities through using m-pipe
www.victrex.com/en/energy

www.magmaglobal.com

Company

Victrex

Most recent Articles

Stratasys partners with NASCAR

Stratasys has been named a NASCAR Competition Partner and has teamed with NASCAR to produce the first-ever 3D printed production parts to be featured across all NASCAR Next Gen cars.
1 day ago News

WEST SYSTEM sponsors Spirit Yachts regatta

Continuing decades of close collaboration and association, West System is sponsoring the inaugural Spirit Regatta which is taking place 25th June to 2nd July in St. Peter Port, Guernsey.
1 day ago News

Login / Sign up